My Education Network Mind Map

As technology has evolved throughout the years, so have my opportunities with learning.  As an adult learner finding the time to take a course has been very difficult, now those educational courses are online it has opened the doors.  Just in the past few years, I have learned new techniques that have expanded my network base and my knowledge based of what technology exist and how to do my schoolwork smarter and not harder.

 During my college courses, the discussion boards have been an asset in my learning process.  Not only do I learn from the literature resources but being able to discuss the topics with other students who are also working in the field or have more experience has enlighten me with how other students perceive the information and how to apply it.  Another tool I recently used has been through educational blogs.  I have found so much information from other instructional designers recently, which has simplified my understanding of the instructional design field.   

These resources have limited my use of a basic Google search when I am unclear of a topic or what to know more about a topic.  As in instructional designer, I also found the American Society for Training and Development (ASTD) website to be very useful with the latest trends in the field and what I need to start focusing on and if I’m not familiar asking the  instructor or even a  colleague(student) .  An online course has not only brought me in touch with other student s, but it has also created a network that I can rely on even after the course is completed. 

With the use of this mind map, it has open the door to see where and how many items have influenced the way I learn.  Connecting the lines to the various modes of network uses also connects the variety of learning theories.  As an instructional designer determining what information and who the audience is important to ensure use of the appropriate method.

One thought on “My Education Network Mind Map”

Leave a comment